Taxpayer - Recruitment

Skip navigation Reduce Motion High Contrast Careers Contact Us


  •  Photo of cars in traffic

  • Recruitment Timeline

    Each year, as terms of various members expire, a recruitment process is conducted to fill vacant positions on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee. This recruitment process typically takes place during spring with final selection in June. Recruitment is currently taking place for openings in the First, Second, Fourth, and Fifth Supervisorial Districts. The next recruitment will take place between March and May 2022 for openings in the First, Third, Fourth, and Fifth Districts.

    The First District consists of the cities of Garden Grove, Santa Ana, Westminster, portions of Fountain Valley, and the unincorporated community of Midway City.

    The Third District consists of the cities of Orange, Tustin, Villa Park, Yorba Linda, and portions of Anaheim and Irvine.

    The Fourth District consists of the cities of Anaheim, Brea, Fullerton, La Habra, Placentia, and portions of Buena Park.

    The Fifth District consists of the cities of Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, portions of Irvine, and the unincorporated communities of Coto de Caza, Ladera Ranch, Las Flores, and Wagon Wheel.

    Supervisorial District Map:

    Supervisorial District Map

    Click on the image for larger view (PDF)

    Who Can Apply for the Taxpayer Oversight Committee (TOC)?

    Any Orange County citizen 18 years or older may apply to serve on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee. This is a volunteer position and no monetary compensation will be paid to committee members. Potential candidates will be reviewed on the basis of the following criteria:

    • Commitment and ability to participate in Taxpayer Oversight Committee meetings for a three-year term from July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2024. The committee will maintain time and meeting requirements. The committee currently meets bi-monthly.
    • Demonstrated interest and history of participation in community activities, with special emphasis on transportation-related activities.
    • Lack of conflict of interest with respect to the expenditure of the sales tax revenue generated by OC Go (also known as Measure M). All Taxpayer Oversight Committee members are required to sign a conflict of interest form when accepting appointment.
    • Currently elected or appointed city, district, county, state or federal officials are not eligible to serve.

    How Are Taxpayer Oversight Committee (TOC) Members Chosen?

    Taxpayer Oversight Committee candidates are chosen by the Grand Jurors Association of Orange County (GJAOC), which has formed a five-member Taxpayer Oversight Committee Selection Panel to conduct an extensive recruitment program. The panel screens all applications, conducts interviews and recommends potential candidates for membership on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee once a year as terms expire.

    The GJAOC is made up of former grand jurors who have a continuing concern for good government and whose purpose is to promote public understanding of the functions and purpose of the grand jury. The GJAOC is a neutral body serving the interests of the taxpayers of Orange County. New TOC members are chosen by lottery from among the finalists at a meeting of the OCTA Board of Directors.

    Taxpayer Oversight Committee members represent each of the five Orange County Supervisorial Districts and have been meeting regularly since 1991. The chairperson position is the elected/appointed Auditor-Controller of Orange County. Committee members are appointed to staggered three-year terms. The Auditor-Controller’s term coincides with his/her elected or appointed term.

Tab 1 Content:

Tab 2 Content:

Tab 3 Content:

Get Connected